Published Mar 24, 2022

Practical Farmers of Iowa Statement on PFI Member Appointments to USDA Farm Service Agency’s State Committee

By Maggie Norton


Maggie Norton | Farmer Outreach Coordinator | (515) 232-5661

AMES, Iowa (March 24, 2022) — Practical Farmers of Iowa members Kayla Koether, Seth Watkins, Ryan Marquardt and Wendy Johnson have been appointed by U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack to serve on Iowa’s five-member USDA Farm Service Agency state committee.

Practical Farmers of Iowa’s executive director, Sally Worley, released the following statement:

“We are thrilled to see Kayla, Seth, Ryan and Wendy appointed to this committee,” said Worley. “FSA will benefit greatly from their unique perspectives, and I know they will work hard to help all those who farm, or aspire to farm, be successful.”

Kayla Koether grew up on a beef farm and is herself a beginning cattle farmer in Decorah, Iowa. Seth Watkins runs his family’s heritage farm near Clarinda, Iowa where they have a cow-calf enterprise and diversified crop rotation. Ryan Marquardt owns Wild Rose Pastures, where he raises chicken, turkey, beef and eggs, near Van Meter, Iowa. Wendy Johnson is a diversified crop and livestock farmer from Charles City, Iowa and a PFI board member since 2014. She will also serve as the FSA state committee chair.

More information is available in the official announcement, which can be found at


About Practical Farmers:

Practical Farmers of Iowa works to equip farmers to build resilient farms and communities. Our values include: welcoming everyone; farmers leading the exchange of experience and knowledge; curiosity, creativity, collaboration and community; resilient farms now and for future generations; and stewardship of land and resources. To learn more, visit